WordPress中的儿童主题–如何以及为什么使用它们

会员披露: 完全透明-我们网站上的某些链接是会员链接,如果您使用它们进行购买,我们将为您赚取佣金而没有任何额外费用(无任何费用!)。

 

便利和用户友好已成为以下方面的一些主要问题 现代网页设计。 当然,我们谈论的是最终用户浏览网站的便利性,而不仅限于此。 网站所有者或自定义网站的人的便利性也值得争取。

但是,并非网页设计中的所有大腿都非常明显。 乍看之下,有些发展似乎毫无意义,但如果您深入研究这些发展,实际上对网站所有者将是极为有益的。

WordPress中的儿童主题–如何以及为什么使用它们

儿童主题就是这样的发明。 拥有WordPress引擎文件,父主题和子主题对于新手来说似乎毫无用处,他们从直觉上追求简单。 使事情变得如此复杂有什么意义? 实际上,其原因是为了使事情变得更方便,并且让您(修改网站的人)摆脱了经验丰富的Web开发人员所深知的陷阱。

在本文中,我将调查WordPress中的子主题是什么以及如何以及为何使用它们的问题。 我想这将是一次非常有见地的旅程,它将向您阐明一些Web设计的奥秘。 我们走吧!

什么是儿童主题?

如果有孩子,则有(或曾经)有父母。 这不仅在人类世界中而且在WordPress主题世界中都是如此。 专家创建子主题以继承父主题的功能和外观。 同时,对于子主题,您可以修改主题并为其添加功能,而无需修改其重要的核心文件。 父主题未进行任何更改。

许多现代的模板提供程序都使用子主题为您提供扩展功能的模板。 为了获得更多的主题功能,它们的父主题不只是设计文件包,它们是框架,功能不断增强。 例如, 版型怪客是市场上领先的模板提供者之一,使用功能丰富的CherryFramework作为其父主题。 WordPress主题。 在这种情况下,子主题变成了一个地方,所有独特主题样式都与其他样式分开存储,您可以轻松找到它们。 许多模板提供者都使用此方案,并使子主题成为模板的关键部分。

WordPress中的儿童主题–如何以及为什么使用它们

通常,子主题的结构非常简单。 它的文件夹仅包含您可能要修改的文件。 父主题也包含相同的文件。 为什么在您的网站上实际具有相同功能的文件会变得很方便? 让我们来看看:

使用儿童主题的原因

WordPress中的儿童主题–如何以及为什么使用它们

如果您打算以任何方式自定义网站模板以使其适应网站的需求,则有三个主要原因需要您使用子主题。

不要失去进度:无故障更新

我敢打赌,您知道您需要更新您的网站组件,以使其保持故障和错误状态,并提供最大的网站安全性。 但是,WordPress更新系统非常简单。 一旦进行了更新,便可以用新文件替换旧文件,而WordPress不在乎是否已以旧版本为主题修改了文件并希望保留这些修改。

这里是儿童主题。 它成为存储所有父主题修改的地方。 当子主题文件覆盖或补充父主题文件时,它们使您可以保存并立即将所有自定义修改应用于父主题的新版本。

这种做法为您节省了很多时间,否则,您将不得不在较旧版本的主题中查找修改后的代码段,将其复制到PC中(注意每个代码字符串所属的文件),然后粘贴它们到新主题版本的相应文件。

这就是为什么如果您想让网站保持最新状态而又不会造成任何动荡,则儿童主题在某种程度上是您的真正救星。

修改主题更加简单

父主题包含一组丰富的文件,您永远都不要触摸其中的一些文件。 子主题的结构更简单,仅包含需要在需要时更改的文件。 这就是为什么子主题可以让您快速找出应该使用的文件,并可以更快地跟踪先前修改过的代码段。

例如,假设您要更改主题的颜色。 您可以在父主题的style.css文件中寻找一个特定的规则(这是一个很大的规则),或者您可以向该主题的style.css文件中添加一个新规则(3或4行代码)。儿童主题。 无论该规则位于父主题的style.css中的何处,添加的规则都将覆盖父主题中的初始规则。

让我们再举一个例子。 如果要显着更改page.php的结构并保留文件的旧版本,则只需将新的page.php文件添加到子主题中即可。 您将在主题中使用它,而不是默认主题。 每当您想返回到该文件的默认结构时,只需从子文件夹中删除page.php文件。

不断变化

通常,您可能想回到以前的网站修改中来进行调整或放弃。 如果更改是在父主题文件中进行的,则可能会出现问题,因为父主题包含许多文件,并且很难找到您修改过的位置。

对于儿童主题,很难迷失方向,因为您只会看到在那里修改的内容。 在30条CSS规则中查找所需的规则绝对比在具有数百条规则的样式表中查找所需的规则简单。 我想你明白了,不是吗?

因此,现在您知道了使用子主题的原因。 对于那些以前从未创建过WordPress网站的人来说,它们并不是那么明显。 但是,一旦您至少创建了一个网站,您将立即了解子主题给您的保存努力和自定义便利的重要性。

使用儿童主题

WordPress中的儿童主题–如何以及为什么使用它们

如果安装现代WordPress模板,通常会先安装父主题,然后再安装子主题。 然后,您需要在WordPress仪表板的外观->主题部分中激活子主题。 完成此操作后,您的自定义助手(即您的子主题)就可以帮助您实现所需的父主题修改。

使用儿童主题更改主题样式

Style.css是子主题的主要且唯一的强制性文件之一。 为了正常工作,而不是放弃父主题包含的所有规则,此文件的标题中应包含一条魔术线。 这行是:

WordPress中的儿童主题–如何以及为什么使用它们

通过此行,父主题包含的所有规则都将应用于您的网站,除非该规则在子主题的style.css正文中被覆盖。 实际上,您需要的是简单地将css规则添加到子主题的style.css文件的底部,相信我,这不是火箭科学。 观看此视频教程,以了解如何在子主题的帮助下自定义模板的配色方案:

为主题添加新功能

对于子主题,您将有机会将所有新主题功能添加到子主题的functions.php文件中。 但是,您应该意识到一个窍门。 与子主题的style.css中的CSS规则不同,子主题的functions.php中的函数不会简单地覆盖父主题中的类似功能。 实际上,子主题的functions.php文件在其父主题中的对应文件之前加载。

这就是为什么要覆盖父主题的functions.php文件中的函数的原因,应该使用以下条件语句:

WordPress中的儿童主题–如何以及为什么使用它们

这些绿线的php代码将使浏览器检查是否对您感兴趣的函数存在于parental functions.php文件中。 然后,由您决定使用什么php命令来修改现有规则。

向主题添加新文件

重要的是要说儿童主题是您自由的地方。 您可以添加所需的任何文件,并用它们覆盖父主题的文件。 style.css和functions.php是子主题的仅有的两个文件,它们不会完全丢弃父主题的相应文件。

子主题的所有其他文件将覆盖父主题的类似文件。 随意创建此类文件的新版本,例如single.php,index.php,page.php,404.php等,使用它们,不必担心会丢失默认主题文件,因为它们在父主题文件夹中保持不变。

另请参阅:

20个最佳粉红色WordPress主题灵感(高级版)

[更新] 10+最佳游戏WordPress主题

通过Monstroid2比较WordPress主题与HTML模板的功能

结论

子主题是一个非常聪明和简单的解决方案,可让您根据 创建您的网站 更有效,永远不要害怕失去进度。 使用子主题,您可以自定义主题样式,修改其功能并将修改应用于其他主题文件,而不会失去在需要时返回初始文件版本的机会。 因此,永远不要将儿童主题想象成脖子上的信天翁:明智地使用它会为您带来很多好处。

现在,您该大声疾呼了! 如果您有任何疑问或考虑事项,请随时在下面的“评论”部分中分享。

小心!

 

梅加·帕里克(Megha Parikh)

梅加·帕里克(Megha Parikh) 是一位数字营销专家,并在数字营销世界中游刃有余 7 年多。 她特别喜欢学习社交媒体营销和转化率优化,同时探索她的社交和人际交往能力。 你可以关注她 Twitter & LinkedIn.

发表评论

Child Themes in WordPress – How and Why Use Them

 

Convenience and user-friendliness have turned into some of the major concerns of modern web design. Of course, we speak about the convenience of an end user that is browsing a website but not only about it. The convenience of the website owner or a person that is customizing a website is also worth fighting for.

However, not all the thighs in web design are pretty obvious. There are such developments that may seem rather pointless from the first sight but are actually tremendously beneficial to a website owner if you dig into them.

 Child Themes in WordPress – How and Why Use Them

Child themes are among such inventions. Having WordPress engine files, parent theme and a child theme may seem useless to a newbie, who is intuitively seeking simplicity. What’s the point to make it all so complicated? Actually, the reason is to make the things more convenient and let you, the person modifying the website, escape the pitfalls that experienced web developers are well aware of.

In this article, I’ll investigate the question what child themes in WordPress are and how and why you should use them. I guess this would be a pretty insightful journey that will illuminate some of the web design mysteries to you. Let’s go!

What is a child theme?

If there is a child, there is (or was) a parent. That’s true not only in the human world but also in the world of WordPress themes. Specialists create a child theme in order to inherit the functionality and look of a parent theme. At the same time, with a child theme, you can modify and add functionality to the theme you use, without modifying its vital core files. The parent theme does not undergo any changes.

Many modern template providers use child themes to provide you with templates of extended functionality. For extra theme power, their parent themes are more than packs of design files, they are frameworks, filled with functional advances. For instance, TemplateMonster, one of the leading template providers on the market, uses feature-rich CherryFramework as the parent theme of their WordPress themes. In this case, the child theme becomes the place, where all the unique theme styles are stored apart from other styles and you can easily find them. This scheme is used by many template providers and makes a child theme a crucial part of a template.

 Child Themes in WordPress – How and Why Use Them

The structure of a child theme is, as a rule, pretty simple. Its folder contains only the files you might ever want to modify. The parent theme contains the same files as well. Why might it ever be convenient to actually have files with the same functions on your website? Let’s see:

Reasons To Use a Child Theme

 Child Themes in WordPress – How and Why Use Them

If you’re planning to customize a website template in any way to adapt it to the needs of your website, there are three major reasons why you need a child theme.

Don’t Lose Your Progress: Trouble-free Updates

I bet you’re aware that you need to update your website components to keep them glitch and bug-free and to provide for the maximum security of your website. However, the system of WordPress updates is pretty straightforward. Once you make an update, you are able to replace old files with the new ones and WordPress doesn’t care whether you’ve modified the files in the theme of the older version and want to preserve these modifications.

Here comes the child theme. It becomes the place, where all the parent theme modifications are stored. As the files of the child theme override or complement the parent theme files, they let you save and immediately apply all your custom modifications to the new version of the parent theme.

This practice saves you a lot of time, as otherwise, you would have to track down the modified pieces of code in the older version of the theme, copy them to your PC (minding what file each code string belongs to), and then paste them to the corresponding files of the new theme version.

That’s why a child theme is in some way your true savior if you want to keep your website up-to-date without extra turmoil.

Modify Your Theme Even Simpler

Parent theme has a rich set of files, and you are not supposed to ever touch some of them. The structure of a child theme is way simpler and includes only the files that are meant to be changed when needed. That’s why, a child theme lets you figure out quickly what file you should work with, and lets you faster track down the pieces of code that you’ve modified earlier.

For example, let’s say you want to change some color in your theme. You may look for a specific rule in the style.css file of the parent theme (which is a pretty large one), or you may simply add a new rule (3 or 4 lines of code) to the style.css file of the child theme. The added rule will override the initial rule in the parent theme, no matter, where this rule resides in the style.css of the parent theme.

Let’s take another example. If you want to significantly change the structure of your page.php and preserve the older version of the file, you can simply add a new page.php file to your child theme. You will use it in your theme instead of the default one. Whenever you feel like going back to the default structure of this file, simply remove the page.php file from your child folder.

Go Back-And-Forth with Changes

It often happens that you may want to come back to your earlier website modifications to tweak or discard them. If the changes were carried out within the parent theme files, this may be rather problematic as the parent theme contains many files, and it’s hard to find the place that you’ve modified.

With a child theme, it’s hard to get lost, as you’ll see only what you’ve modified there. Finding the needed rule among 30 CSS rules is definitely simpler, than locating it within a stylesheet that has hundreds of rules. I guess you got it, don’t you?

So, now you know the reasons behind using child themes. They are the ones that are not that obvious for someone, who never created a WordPress website before. However, once you go for creating a website at least once, you’ll immediately grasp, how important preservation of your effort and customization convenience that child themes give are.

Using a Child Theme

 Child Themes in WordPress – How and Why Use Them

If you install a modern WordPress template, you’ll typically install a parent theme first, and then a child theme. Then, you need to activate the child theme in the Appearance -> Themes section of your WordPress dashboard. Once you do this, your customization assistant, i.e. your child theme, is ready to help you with the implementation of any needed parent theme modifications.

Changing Theme Styles with A Child Theme

Style.css is one of the main and the only mandatory file of a child theme. To work properly and not to discard all the rules that the parent theme contains, this file should include one magic line in its header. This line is:

 Child Themes in WordPress – How and Why Use Them

With this line, all the rules that parent theme contains are applied to your website unless this or that rule is overridden in the body of child theme’s style.css. Actually, what you need to is to simply add css rules to the bottom of the style.css file of your child theme, and, believe me, this is not rocket science. Check out this video-tutorial to learn how to customize your template’s color scheme with the help of a child theme:

WordPress. How To Change Color Scheme

Adding New Functions to Your Theme

With a child theme, you get the opportunity to add all the new theme functions to the functions.php file of your child theme. However, there is one trick that you should be aware of. Unlike CSS rules in style.css of the child theme, functions in functions.php of the child theme do not simply override the analogous ones in the parent theme. Actually, the functions.php file of the child theme loads before its counterpart in the parent theme.

That’s why in order to override the function in the functions.php file of the parent theme you should use the following conditional statement:

 Child Themes in WordPress – How and Why Use Them

These green lines of php code will make the browser check, whether the function that is interesting for you exists in the parental functions.php file. Then, it’s up to you what php command to use to modify the existing rule.

Adding New Files to Your Theme

It is important to say that a child theme is a place of your freedom. You can add any files you need and override the files of the parent theme with them. style.css and functions.php are the only two files of the child theme that do not discard the corresponding files of the parent theme completely.

All the other files of the child theme will override the analogous files of the parent theme. Feel free to create new versions of such files as single.php, index.php, page.php, 404.php, etc., use them and never fear to lose the default theme files as they remain intact within your parent theme folder.

Also Read:

20 Best Pink WordPress Themes for Inspiration  (Premium)

[Updated] 10+ Best Gaming WordPress Themes

WordPress Themes vs HTML Templates Features Compared Via Monstroid2

Conclusions

The child theme is a very smart and simple solution that lets you work upon creation of your website more efficiently and never fear to lose your progress. With child themes, you can customize your theme styles, modify its functions and apply modifications to other theme files without losing a chance to come back to initial file version whenever needed. So, never think of a child theme as of an albatross around your neck: use it wise and it does you a lot of favors.

Now, it’s your time to speak up! If you have any questions or considerations, feel free to share them in the Comments section below.

Take care!

 

Humble Request

if you really enjoyed this post please share this post to your friends so they learn something new and grow in digital marketing. Your valuable comments are oxygen for me.
SHARING IS ♥️

About Megha Parikh

Megha Parikh is a digital marketing expert and has been journeying through the world of digital marketing for more than 7 years. She especially enjoys learning about social media marketing and conversion rate optimization while exploring her social and interpersonal skills. You can follow her on Twitter & Linkedin.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *