Wing Assistant 如何在一年内从 GSV 的 1 万美元扩大到 GSV 的 10 万美元

会员披露: 完全透明-我们网站上的某些链接是会员链接,如果您使用它们进行购买,我们将为您赚取佣金而没有任何额外费用(无任何费用!)。

我们采访了 Roland Polzin,他是 翼助理,关于他在过去一年中取得的令人印象深刻的增长、他不寻常的职业生涯以及他作为企业家面临的一些最大挑战。

Roland Polzin, the co-founder and Chief Marketing Officer of Wing Assistant

罗兰,作为一个来美国创业的德国人,你拥有令人印象深刻的领导背景和不同寻常的履历。 告诉我们更多关于您如何构建 Wing Assistant 的信息。

在攻读 MBA 期间,我在加州大学欧文分校的校园里加入了我的联合创始人。 那时,我正在与团队合作创建一个校园学生助理应用程序。 然而,我们很快改变了业务,成为我们在 Product Hunt 上推出的高档礼宾应用程序,并成为 #1 当天的产品.

但是,大流行病打击了我们的商业模式,因此我们不得不转变:我们调整了后端技术并设计了一种新软件来满足企业需求——Wing Assistant 诞生了! 疫情期间,我也是MBA毕业,转全职工作签证,之后 收到我们的种子资金,我组建了一个团队作为首席营销官,使我们公司的总销售额在短短一年内从 0 美元增长到 10 万美元以上。

Wing 与其他托管助理提供商有何不同?

我们的强劲增长主要归功于我们在外包领域独特的软件方法。 没有其他竞争对手提供像我们这样的软件套件,可以高效、轻松和安全地将工作委派给远程人才。 我们的软件使企业及其远程人才能够发挥最佳表现,并具有内置技术以确保所交付工作的持续一流质量。

您如何定义企业家的成功?

除了对特定业务很重要的指标外,对我来说,成功还在于我能对人们产生积极影响,以及我学到了多少东西,以及我可以作为一个人成长多少。 在这方面,实现业务指标是达到目的的一种手段:在追求强劲增长和高收入的同时,我每天都在不断面对新挑战和学习新事物。

一直以来,通过向越来越多的人推销我们出色的服务,我的公司让他们的生活更轻松,业务更有效。 这就是使长时间工作值得的成功。

成功的 SaaS 公司的基础是什么?

强大的团队,对公司的坚定愿景,以及日常业务中足够的乐趣,让工作变得有价值。 如果你拥有这些,你就可以征服任何东西——虽然你可能在最初的几个月里找不到适合市场的产品,但一个强大的团队会围绕小的成功进行迭代,并在每个开发周期中增加牵引力。

公司的愿景是让每个人都专注和参与,并培养所有团队成员之间的联系。 积极的公司文化将使团队中的每个人都感到受欢迎,并使团队成员有一个目标,使他们即使没有特定的指导方针也能积极推动公司目标的实现。

关于共同创办公司,您会给过去的自己什么建议?

“去做就对了”! 在我作为企业家的早期,我应用了我在 MBA 期间学到的经验教训。 虽然我的学业和专业背景非常有帮助,但它们在很大程度上与大型组织的官僚主义保持一致。 这通常意味着要遵循严格的指导方针和最佳实践才能取得成功。

但是,根据定义,在启动环境中,通常没有足够的最佳实践或指南可用。 因此,采取行动并尝试新事物是一个好主意,即使这些可能会失败。 确保将失败考虑在内是这里成功的关键。

大多数人忽视的领导公司的重要方面是什么?

许多人不擅长委派任务。 这项技能对任何企业领导者都至关重要,因为自己做所有事情最终会使您成为组织的瓶颈。 相反,聘请您可以信任的团队成员,以您的方式培训他们,然后信任他们代表您开展工作。

你让有动力的人拥有的自主权越多,他们就越能拥有自己的工作并投入更多的精力。 如果您不知道从哪里开始,只需使用 聪明的目标 结构来委派任务并定期与您的队友同步,以确保每个人都在同一页面上。

您年轻时想创业吗? 是什么激发了你的兴趣?

小时候,我就热衷于建造东西。 我的祖父母住在德国东部农村的一个农场里。 每个学校假期,我都会去参观并工作以赚取零用钱。 我为马建造了栅栏,挖土开辟了种植蔬菜的田地,并建造了排水系统来应对大雨。

后来在高中时,我开始了自己的计算机服务业务,为私人组装和安装计算机。 我喜欢这两项工作,因为我对我如何塑造我正在建造的东西有自主权——今天仍然如此,这也是我成为一名企业家的最重要的驱动力。

当你是一个 100% 分布式团队时,共同创立一家 SaaS 公司是什么感觉?

这太棒了,因为它为我团队中的每个人提供了在家工作的奢侈,甚至在可行的情况下甚至可以灵活工作。 不过,它确实需要严格的项目管理,以确保团队成员了解他们正在与谁合作以及截止日期是什么。

对于跨部门项目尤其如此,因为远程工作需要进行更深思熟虑的沟通。 我确保所有团队成员每天都有几次签到,并且至少每周召开一次更大范围的会议,以确保每个人都在同一页面上。 此外,我们经常举办虚拟欢乐时光,为每个人提供一个在休闲环境中互动和享受的机会。

作为 SaaS 联合创始人,您必须克服的最大挑战是什么?

情绪过山车。 顺便说一下,这是一个持续不断的挑战,在你经营一家企业时永远不会结束——当你获得一大笔资金或当你关闭一个大客户时,你的高潮会很高,而当你燃烧时,你的低谷会很低通过现金,您不确定该企业是否还能再生存一年。

我已经学会(而且我还在学习)关注机会和正在发生的好事,并反思艰难的处境,不要让它们消耗我。 冥想对我来说是一种新发现的工具,它可以帮助我调整注意力并防止我为无法改变的事情担心太多。

告诉我们您在担任 CMO 时必须跳出框框思考的经历。 你想解决什么问题? 结果如何?

一个例子是我们的网站聊天。 虽然提供 24/6 实时聊天体验并不是开创性的,但它曾经是(现在仍然是)我们行业的首创。 现在,由于许多传入的聊天查询会带来新的销售,我们必须找到一种方法让我们的广告平台将这些行为注册为营销归因。

由于我们的聊天平台与广告平台没有直接集成,我的创造性解决方案是让我们的一位工程师编写一个简单的脚本,每次在聊天中提到某个关键字时都会触发一个动作。 通过这种方式,我们能够积极地加强广告平台算法,并使它们能够发送更多这种畅销的流量。

您如何看待外包和自由职业行业的现状,以及未来几年的发展方向?

大流行加速了远程工作,这是它带来的为数不多的好事之一——想想人们获得的额外灵活性以及避免通勤导致的二氧化碳排放量的减少,这只是两个优势。

然而,绝大多数传统经营的企业仍未完全理解将完整的业务功能外包给远程劳动力的潜力。 对我来说,这是一种额外的动力,可以让高管们了解这种潜力,并为他们开启全新的生产力水平。

是什么促使您早上起床?

在我公司工作的人。 我们拥有一支出色的团队,他们来自世界各地,经常轮班上岗,以确保一切顺利进行。 尽我作为领导者的职责来支持他们,并确保公司每天都变得更好是我的个人使命,它让我每天早上醒来都渴望开始。

快速链接:

安迪·汤普森

安迪·汤普森(Andy Thompson)长期以来一直是自由作家。 她是的高级SEO和内容营销分析师 数码软件,一家专门从事内容和数据驱动的 SEO 的数字营销机构。 她在数字营销和联盟营销方面也有七年多的经验。 她喜欢在广泛的领域分享她的知识,从电子商务、初创公司、社交媒体营销、在线赚钱、联盟营销到人力资本管理等等。 她一直在为多个权威的 SEO、Make Money Online 和数字营销博客撰写文章,例如: 影像工作站,& 新闻智能波

发表评论

How Wing Assistant Was Able To Scale From $1M In GSV To $10M In GSV Within A Year

Affiliate disclosure: In full transparency – some of the links on our website are affiliate links, if you use them to make a purchase we will earn a commission at no additional cost for you (none whatsoever!).

We spoke with Roland Polzin, the co-founder and Chief Marketing Officer of Wing Assistant, about the impressive growth he drove over the past year, his unusual career, and some of his biggest challenges as an entrepreneur.

Roland Polzin, the co-founder and Chief Marketing Officer of Wing Assistant

Roland, you have an impressive leadership background and an unusual CV as a German coming to the US to start a business. Tell us more about how you built Wing Assistant.

I joined my co-founders on campus at UC Irvine while I was doing my MBA. Back then, I was working with the team to create an on-campus student assistant app. However, we soon changed the business to become an upscale concierge app that we launched on Product Hunt and became the #1 Product of the day.

The pandemic struck down our business model, though, so we had to pivot: We adapted our backend technology and engineered a new software to cater to businesses – Wing Assistant was born! During the pandemic, I also graduated with my MBA and switched to a full-time work visa, and after we received our seed funding, I built a team as the CMO to grow our company from $0 to $10M+ in Gross Sales Volume in just about a year.

How is Wing different from other managed assistant providers?

Our strong growth is mostly attributed to our unique software approach in the outsourcing space. No other competitor offers a software suite like ours that makes delegating work to remote talent efficient, easy, and secure. Our software empowers businesses and their remote talent to perform at their best and has built-in technology to ensure continuous top-notch quality of the delivered work.

How do you define success as an entrepreneur?

Besides the metrics that are important to a particular business, for me, success lies in the positive impact I can have on people as well as on how much I learn and how much I can grow as a person. In that regard, achieving business metrics is a means to an end: While chasing strong growth and high revenue, I am constantly facing new challenges and learning new things every day.

All the while, by selling our amazing service to more and more people, my company gets to make their lives easier and their businesses more effectively. That is the success that makes long hours worth it.

What is the foundation of a successful SaaS company?

A strong team, a solid vision for the company, and enough fun in the day-to-day business to make working worthwhile. If you have these, you can conquer anything – while you might not find product-market fit in the first couple of months, a strong team will iterate around small successes and increase the traction with every development cycle.

The company’s vision will keep everyone focused and engaged, and foster a bond between all team members. A positive company culture will make everyone on the team feel welcome and equip team members with a purpose that enables them to proactively drive company goals even without specific guidelines.

What advice would you give your past self about co-founding a company?

“Just do it”! In my early days as an entrepreneur, I applied the lessons I learned during my MBA. While my studies and my professional background have been very helpful, they were largely aligned with the bureaucracy of large organizations. This often means following strict guidelines and best practices to achieve success.

However, in a startup environment, by definition, there often are not enough best practices or guidelines available. Hence, it is a good idea to take action and try out new things even if those might fail. Making sure that failure is accounted for is the key to success here.

What is an important aspect of leading a company that most people overlook?

Many people are not good at delegating tasks. This skill is crucial for any business leader since doing everything yourself will ultimately make you the bottleneck of the organization. Rather, hire team members whom you can trust, train them in your ways, and then trust them to do work on your behalf.

The more autonomy you allow motivated people to have, the more they own their work and put effort into it. If you don’t know where to start, simply use the SMART goal structure to delegate tasks and sync regularly with your teammates to make sure everyone is on the same page.

Did you want to build a business when you were younger? What sparked your interest?

Even as a kid, I was keen on building things. My grandparents lived on a farm in the countryside in Eastern Germany. Every school holiday, I would visit and work to make some pocket money. I built fences for the horses, dug dirt to create fields for growing vegetables, and created water drainage systems to cope with heavy rains.

Later in high school, I started my own computer service business, assembling and installing computers for private people. I loved both of these jobs because I had agency over how I shaped the things I am building – this is still true today, and the most important driver for me to be an entrepreneur.

What is it like co-founding a SaaS company when you’re a 100% distributed team?

It’s fantastic since it provides everyone on my team with the luxury of working from home, and even working flexible hours whenever feasible. It does require stringent project management, though, to make sure team members are aware of whom they are working with and what the deadlines are.

This is especially true for interdepartmental projects since remote work creates a need for more deliberate communication. I make sure to have several daily check-ins for all team members, and at least a larger weekly meeting with an expanded circle to ensure that everyone is on the same page. In addition, we frequently hold virtual happy hours to provide an opportunity for everyone to interact in a casual setting and enjoy themselves.

What’s the biggest challenge you’ve had to overcome as a SaaS co-founder?

The emotional rollercoaster. And this, by the way, is a constant challenge that never ends when you are running a business – your highs are high when you receive a big round of funding or when you close a big customer, and your lows are low when you are burning through cash and you are not sure whether the business is going to survive for another year.

I have learned (and I am still learning) to focus on the opportunities and the good things that are happening as well as to reflect on tough situations and not let them consume me. Meditation has been a newfound tool for me that helps calibrate my focus and prevents me from worrying too much about things that I am unable to change.

Tell us about a time you had to think out of the box in your role as CMO. What were you trying to solve? What were the results?

One example is our website chat. While offering a 24/6 live chat experience is not groundbreaking, it was (and still is) a first in our industry. Now, since many of the incoming chat inquiries result in new sales, we had to find a way to make our ad platforms register these actions as marketing attributions.

Since there is no direct integration of our chat platform with ad platforms, my creative solution was to have one of our engineers write a simple script that would trigger an action every time a certain keyword was mentioned in the chat. This way, we were able to positively reinforce the ad platform algorithms and enable them to send more of this well-selling traffic.

What do you think of the current state of the outsourcing and freelancing industries, and where do you see it going in the next few years?

The pandemic has accelerated remote work, which is one of the few good things that came from it – think of the additional flexibility people get as well as the savings in CO2 emissions resulting from avoiding commutes to just name two advantages.

However, the vast majority of traditionally run businesses have still not fully understood the potential of outsourcing complete business functions to a remote labor force. To me, this is an extra motivation to educate executives about this potential and unlock a completely new level of productivity for them.

What motivates you to get out of bed in the morning?

The people who are working for my company. We have a fantastic team of people who are working from literally all around the world, often through the graveyard shift to make sure everything runs smoothly. Doing my part as a leader to enable them, and making sure the company gets a little better every day is my personal mission that makes me wake up eager to start every morning.

Quick Links:

Andy Thompson

Andy Thompson has been a freelance writer for a long while. She is a senior SEO and content marketing analyst at Digiexe, a digital marketing marketing agency specializing in content and data-driven SEO. She has more than seven years of experience in digital marketing & affiliate marketing too. She likes sharing her knowledge in a wide range of domains ranging from ecommerce, startups, social media marketing, make money online, affiliate marketing to human capital management, and much more. She has been writing for several authoritative SEO, Make Money Online & digital marketing blogs like : ImageStation, Newsmartwave, & Experthoot

Leave a Comment