为什么数据伦理在营销中很重要,可以做些什么?

会员披露: 完全透明-我们网站上的某些链接是会员链接,如果您使用它们进行购买,我们将为您赚取佣金而没有任何额外费用(无任何费用!)。

与营销时间框架相比,数据伦理仍然是一个相对较新的概念。 营销数据伦理一般而言,是指在收集、使用和共享数据时必须考虑的道德因素。 这可能包括从确保公平和负责任地获取数据到保护人们的隐私到公开您如何使用数据。

由于各种原因,营销中的数据伦理在过去十年中受到了广泛关注。

首先,企业获取的数据量猛增。 这引发了人们对数据如何使用以及对客户隐私和整个社会的影响的担忧。

其次,营销中的数据分析取得了进步,使营销人员能够以越来越狭窄和特殊的方式瞄准消费者。 因此,人们对公司是否在道德上使用这些信息提出了质疑。

最后,越来越多的引人注目的数据泄露事件提高了公众对数据收集和存储危险的认识。 浏览由“Information is Stunning”出版的世界上最大的数据泄露和黑客攻击,不仅提供了一幅美丽的图画,而且还为任何营销人员敲响了警钟。

在营销中,数据伦理有四个优势。

1. 重点应该放在您的客户身上。

在营销中,用户应该永远是第一位的。 以客户为中心是指将客户优先于投资者的短期收入的商业方法。 换句话说,数字营销的数据伦理方法优先考虑用户的需求和兴趣,确保他们在任何时候都得到公平和尊重。

当一家公司以客户为中心时,它会努力了解消费者的需求——这应该扩展到它如何收集、存储、使用和共享数据,从而加强客户关系并增加销售额和利润。

2. 它培养信任。

这不仅是道德上正确的事情; 这也经常是法律要求。 如果您遵循数据伦理方法,用户会更加信任您,因为他们会知道他们的最大利益始终被考虑在内。 营销最基本的部分之一是信任,这是任何联系的基石。 此外,朝着更好的数据伦理迈出的每一步都是朝着降低法律风险迈出的一步。

所有营销信息的诚实和透明可以帮助您建立信任,这应该包括您计划如何使用您收集的有关客户的数据。 如果您诚实、坦率、给予他们控制权并信守承诺,客户将与您建立长期联系。

3.对生意有利

采取数据道德策略对企业也有好处。 对公司有信心并相信他们的最大利益受到保护的用户更倾向于与该公司开展业务并将其推广给他人。 如果客户感到被重视并被倾听,他们更有可能保持对公司的忠诚。 这种奉献可能会导致重复的业务和推荐, 提高销售额和盈利能力 同时削减营销费用。

4. 毕竟,这是未来。

随着越来越多的组织对数字营销采取数据伦理方法,数据伦理将成为标准,而那些不这样做的组织将被抛在后面。 数据伦理,如环保承诺和包容的工作环境,将迅速成为品牌资产。 有粗心大意和隐私政策不完善的记录的公司将无法与具有明确道德立场的竞争对手竞争。

有两个伦理数据问题需要考虑。

毫无疑问,数据伦理正成为商业领域讨论的一个更加突出的问题。 随着我们对数据和技术的依赖增加,滥用数据的风险也在增加。

Strict Policies on Privacy

虽然很难完全消除 数据泄露或滥用,公司可以采取一些措施来改善营销中的数据伦理。 首先,公司必须对他们如何收集和使用客户数据保持开放和诚实的态度。

应告知客户正在收集哪些信息、如何使用这些信息以及如何保护他们的隐私。 这不仅是法律要求的,也是正确的做法。

除了透明之外,企业还必须对数据的获取和使用负责。 仅应收集合法的商业目的,并且应始终确保数据安全。 即使在征得他们的同意后,客户也应该可以选择改变主意并选择退出数据收集,并且公司不得在未经他们同意的情况下出售或披露消费者信息。

这些都不是新的,它们大多被现有的隐私法所涵盖。 那么,您现在可以做些什么来改善您的数据道德卫生?

1. 有第一方数据好还是零方数据好?

公司已经开始投资收集自己的第一方数据,这些数据可以包含每个客户的数十甚至数百个数据点,以减少他们对第三方数据的依赖。

虽然 Forrester 创造了“零方数据”一词,该术语被定义为“客户有意和主动提供品牌的数据”,但该定义忽略了一个关键点:谁控制数据。

这意味着什么 客户数据隐私? 目前尚不清楚自由提交数据的人是否完全理解将如何使用这些数据。 尽管大多数企业都试图保护他们从消费者那里获得的信息,但有些企业无法充分保护这些信息,以潜在的破坏性方式利用它,或将其出售给任何人。 由于相信收集更多的第一方数据更好,消费者的个人信息将被存储在更多的数据库中。

答案不是额外的第一方数据,这将不可避免地使客户的隐私处于危险之中。 消费者对他们希望与哪些企业共享什么、出于什么目的以及使用零方数据的时间有完全的自由裁量权。

2. 数据的最小化和整合

我们都看到了 Chiefmartec 令人惊叹的技术格局,其中展示了 8,000 多个 MarTech 解决方案。 强大的营销计划涉及关注生态系统而不是孤岛,这需要数据互操作性和集成。 这是哪里 超量度 和其他此类解决方案开始发挥作用,以及它们为何如此重要。

supermetrics collect app data

术语“数据最小化”是指为实现某个目标而收集和使用最少量的数据。 这很重要,因为它可以最大限度地减少数据泄露的可能性并保护个人隐私。

我们已经了解了数据伦理、其优势以及一些案例和补救措施。 由于 GDPR,数据保护在营销中得到了很多关注。 但是,数据保护和隐私与立法、同意横幅或 cookie 无关。

对您的消费者而言,展示出色的数据伦理是一种价值主张。 在后监视资本主义时代,这是一种很快就会将竞争对手分开的心态。

阿曼贾

Aman Jha 是一位数字营销作家、热情的作家和顾问。 他喜欢在 maxzob.com 上发表关于数字营销和初创公司的精美文字和博客。

发表评论

Why Is Data Ethics Important In Marketing, And What Can Be Done About It?

Affiliate disclosure: In full transparency – some of the links on our website are affiliate links, if you use them to make a purchase we will earn a commission at no additional cost for you (none whatsoever!).

Data ethics is still a relatively recent notion when compared to the marketing timeframe. Marketing data ethics, in general, refers to the ethical considerations that must be made when collecting, using, and sharing data. This might range from ensuring that data is acquired fairly and responsibly to safeguarding people’s privacy to being open about how you utilize data.

Data ethics in marketing has gotten a lot of attention in the last decade for a variety of reasons.

To begin with, the amount of data that businesses acquire has skyrocketed. This has raised worries about how the data is used and the ramifications for customer privacy and society as a whole.

Second, data analytics in marketing has advanced, allowing marketers to target consumers in increasingly narrow and particular ways. As a result, questions have been raised regarding whether firms are using this information ethically.

Finally, the growing number of high-profile data breaches has increased public awareness of the dangers of data collecting and storage. A peek at the World’s Biggest Data Breaches and Hacks, published by ‘Information is Stunning,’ provides not only a beautiful picture but also a wake-up call for any marketer.

In marketing, there are four advantages to data ethics.

1. The focus should be on your customer.

The user should always come first in marketing. Customer centricity refers to a business approach that prioritises the customer over short-term income for investors. In other words, a data ethics approach to digital marketing prioritises the user’s wants and interests, ensuring that they are treated fairly and respectfully at all times.

When a company is customer-centric, it strives to understand what its consumers want and need—and this should extend to how it collects, stores, uses, and shares data, resulting in stronger customer relationships and increased sales and profits.

2. It fosters trust.

It’s not only the morally correct thing to do; it’s also frequently a legal requirement. Users will trust you more if you follow a data ethics approach because they will know that their best interests are always being considered. One of the most fundamental parts of marketing is trust, which is the cornerstone of any connection. Furthermore, every step toward a greater data ethics is a step toward reducing legal risk.

Honesty and transparency in all of your marketing messages can help you build trust, and this should include how you plan to use the data you collect about your clients. Customers will form long-term connections with you if you are honest, upfront, give them control, and keep your commitments.

3. It’s beneficial to business

It’s also good for business to take a data ethical strategy. Users who have faith in a company and believe their best interests are being protected are more inclined to do business with it and promote it to others. Customers are more likely to remain loyal to a company if they feel valued and heard. This devotion may result in repeat business and recommendations, boosting sales and profitability while cutting marketing expenses.

4. It’s the future, after all.

Data ethics will become the standard as more organisations take a data ethics approach to digital marketing, and those who don’t will be left behind. Data ethics, like environmental pledges and an inclusive work environment, will fast become brand equity. A company with a track record of carelessness and inadequate privacy policies will be unable to compete with a competitor who has a clear ethical stance.

There are two ethical data questions to consider.

Without a doubt, data ethics is becoming a more prominent issue of discussion in the business sector. As our reliance on data and technology increases, so does the risk of misusing it.

Strict Policies on Privacy

While it is hard to totally remove the danger of data breaches or misuse, companies can take a number of steps to improve data ethics in marketing. First and foremost, companies must be open and honest about how they gather and use customer data.

Customers should be informed about what information is being gathered, how it is being used, and how their privacy is being protected. Not only is it required by law, but it is also the right thing to do.

Businesses must be accountable for data acquisition and use in addition to being transparent. Only legitimate business purposes should be collected, and data should be kept secure at all times. Customers should have the option to alter their minds and opt out of data gathering even after giving their consent, and firms should never sell or disclose consumer information without their consent.

These aren’t new, and they’re mostly covered by existing privacy laws. So, what are some things you can do right now to improve your data ethics hygiene?

1. Is it better to have first-party data or zero-party data?

Companies have begun to invest in gathering their own first-party data, which can comprise dozens or even hundreds of data points for each client, in order to lessen their dependency on third-party data.

While Forrester is credited with coining the term “zero-party data,” which is defined as “data that a customer intentionally and proactively provides with a brand,” this definition misses a key point: who controls the data.

What does this signify for the privacy of customer data? It’s unclear whether people who freely submit their data completely comprehend how it will be used. Despite the fact that most businesses seek to protect the information they acquire from their consumers, some will fail to adequately secure that information, exploit it in potentially damaging ways, or sell it to anyone. Consumers’ personal information will be stored in more databases as a result of the belief that collecting more first-party data is better.

The answer isn’t additional first-party data, which will unavoidably put customers’ privacy at danger. Consumers have full discretion over what they wish to share with which businesses, for what purpose, and for how long using zero-party data.

2. Minimization and integration of data

We’ve all seen Chiefmartec’s stunning technology landscape, which shows over 8,000 MarTech solutions. A strong marketing plan involves looking at the ecosystem rather than silos, which necessitates data interoperability and integration. This is where Supermetrics and other such solutions come into play, and why they’re so vital.

supermetrics collect app data

The term “data minimization” refers to the collection and use of the smallest amount of data necessary to achieve a certain goal. This is significant because it minimises the likelihood of data breaches and preserves individual privacy.

We’ve gone through data ethics, its advantages, and some cases and remedies. Because of the GDPR, data protection has gotten a lot of attention in marketing. However, data protection and privacy are not about the legislation, consent banners, or cookies.

To your consumers, demonstrating excellent data ethics is a value proposition. In the post-surveillance capitalism era, it’s a mentality that will soon separate competitors.

Aman Jha

Aman Jha is a digital marketing author, passionate writer, and consultant. He is a sucker for fine words and blogs about digital marketing and startups at maxzob.com. You can reach out to him at: [email protected]

Leave a Comment