什么是跨语言,以及如何使用这个概念?

会员披露: 完全透明-我们网站上的某些链接是会员链接,如果您使用它们进行购买,我们将为您赚取佣金而没有任何额外费用(无任何费用!)。

我们倾向于将语言视为不同的实体。 学习一门语言需要你只关注该特定语言的语法和词汇。 将新旧语言混在一起是有危险的,因为你现在应该能流利使用新语言了。 另一方面,这种思维方式与现实完全背道而驰。 在单语者和双语者之间的日常对话中,通常会混合使用两种或多种语言。 “Translanguaging”是用来描述这种现象的术语。

跨语言是语言学领域中一个相对较新的概念。 它只是在过去的二十年里才流行起来,作为对单语者普遍认为的人类大脑独立处理语言的看法的对立面。 首先,让我们仔细看看“translanguaging”这个短语以及它如何改变我们对语言的理解。

Translanguaging 作为一个定义的概念

因为不同的人用不同的方式描述它,所以很难确定这个词的确切含义“跨语言。” “跨语言”一词一直是语言学家争论的主题,尽管该词没有普遍接受的含义。 在查看不同人对该短语的使用时,记住该免责声明很重要。

Translanguaging

Cen Williams 在 1980 年代未发表的作品之一提到了 trawsieithu,这是威尔士语中“translanguaging”的意思,他开发了这个短语。 对于威廉姆斯来说,“双语”这个词有一个特定的含义:它指的是学生能够在同一个班级里用英语和威尔士语交谈。

从那时起,许多学者用这个词来解释不同语言在同一上下文中的用法。 语言教学是其最普遍的应用之一。 在课堂上教学生说两种或多种语言被称为跨语言。 这与大多数第二语言教学不同,后者一次只教授一种语言。

“跨语言”一词也可用于指同时使用两种或多种语言的做法。 有几种方法可以发生这种情况。 当两个精通两种语言的人同时用两种语言交谈时,就会发生跨语言。 当游客试图与说不同语言的人交谈时,就会发生跨语言。 如果在同一上下文中使用两种或多种语言,则会发生跨语言。

当使用“跨语言”一词时,对于“双语”和“多语”这两个术语的含义存在很大分歧。 关于双语是“两种单语合一”的假设,一场持续的争论已经持续了几十年。

大脑是独立还是共同处理多种语言是一个需要考虑的重要主题。 跨语言的支持者说,大脑将所有语言视为一种语言,因此在讲西班牙语和法语的双语者中不可能区分西班牙语和法语。 许多人支持这个理论,但它并没有得到广泛的接受。

巴贝尔 是每天学习新语言的好地方。

为什么人们使用代码转换和跨语言?

代码转换是另一个常用词来描述语言之间的转换过程。 如果您已经熟悉,您可能会误认为这两者。 很公平,因为语言方法的差异确实会产生一些混乱。

半个多世纪以来,语言学领域一直在研究语码转换。 研究语码转换最常用的方法是倾听人们的讲话,并弄清楚他们是如何以及为什么从一种语言转换到另一种语言的。

研究代码转换的“语法”,因为它背后的假设是大脑中的某些东西控制着它的工作方式,这是许多研究的主题。 编码与双语的“两种单语合一”理论有关。

然而,即使在语言学家中,语码转换也获得了独特的内涵。 术语“代码转换”有时用于描述人们如何根据情况改变他们的行为。

当一个年轻人和他们的朋友或父母在一起时,他们的行为方式可能会有所不同。 在讨论种族以及黑人和其他有色人种与白人互动的方式时,经常使用“代码转换”这个词。 除了 Code Switch,NPR 还提供了一个专门讨论种族话题的​​播客。 然而,这本身就是一个有用的概念,但它与语言学无关。

与作为一个特定的研究领域相反,跨语言更多地作为一个概念框架来检查人们如何与语言互动。 跨语言不是专注于单独的语言、方言和口语,而是专注于展示所有这些事物是如何交织在一起的。

与语码转换相比,跨语言更仔细地观察说这种语言的人。 用翻译语言的支持者奥菲利亚·加卡(Ofelia Garca)的话说:“翻译不仅仅是跨语言翻译; 它是从内到外观察说话者的语言使用情况。” 根据这个推理,我们需要消除一些阻碍我们充分理解多语的语言障碍。

然而,跨语言的广义定义一直在变化。 跨语言和语码转换可以以多种方式提及。 非专业人士很可能会继续使用“代码转换”这个短语,尽管这两者并不完全相同。

翻译与教学

在大多数情况下,跨语言主要用于教育目的,尤其是儿童。 曾几何时,传统观点认为,抚养双语孩子最有效的方法是自学每种语言。 近年来,一些教师开始尝试不同的方法。

三位语言教师在《语言杂志》的一篇文章中概述了同时教授两种语言的一些具体策略。 作为课程作业的一部分,学生被要求撰写多语言文本并学习如何在语言之间导航。

这是一种更全面的学习方法,需要仔细准备以确保两种语言得到同等重视。 正如他们所说:“跨语言活动为我的双语新生提供了一个地方,可以利用他们的全部语言曲目,促进关键读写技能的发展并增强他们的学习体验。”

这种教学方法并不被普遍认为是成功的。 根据许多语言学家的说法,同时教授两种语言是无效的,他们认为每种语言都有自己的语法。

使用这种范式,更多的人可能会在未来尝试创新的双语教学方法。 它在孩子们已经掌握双语的地区变得越来越流行,因为它满足了他们所在的学生的教育背景。

但是,如果你能从中得到什么,那就是全球已经有数十亿人没有考虑过他们同时说多种语言的事实。

专注于“正确”的言论会限制我们对世界多样性的看法,即使单语在西方世界很流行。 由于交流很复杂,跨语言可能会成为未来的标准。

阿曼贾

Aman Jha 是一位数字营销作家、热情的作家和顾问。 他喜欢在 maxzob.com 上发表关于数字营销和初创公司的精美文字和博客。

发表评论

What Is Translanguaging, And How Is The Concept Being Used?

Affiliate disclosure: In full transparency – some of the links on our website are affiliate links, if you use them to make a purchase we will earn a commission at no additional cost for you (none whatsoever!).

We tend to think of languages as distinct entities. Learning a language requires you to focus only on the grammar and vocabulary of that particular language. There is a danger in mixing together old and new languages, because you should be fluent in the new one by now. This way of thinking, on the other hand, is completely at odds with reality. There is commonly a mixture of two or more languages in ordinary conversation between monolinguals and bilinguals. “Translanguaging” is a term used to describe this phenomena.

Translanguaging is a relatively recent concept in the field of linguistics. It’s only been popular in the last two decades as a counterpoint to the widely held belief among monolinguals that the human brain processes languages independently. To begin, let’s take a closer look at the phrase “translanguaging” and how it might change our understanding of language.

Translanguaging As a Concept Defined

Because different individuals describe it in different ways, it’s difficult to pin down the exact meaning of the term “translanguaging.” The term “translanguaging” has been the subject of much controversy among linguists, although there is no universally accepted meaning for the term. It’s important to keep that disclaimer in mind while looking at different people’s use of the phrase.

Translanguaging

One of Cen Williams’ unpublished works in the 1980s referred to trawsieithu, the Welsh word for “translanguaging,” and he developed this phrase. For Williams, the word “biliteracy” had a specific meaning: it referred to students being able to converse in both English and Welsh in the same class.

Since then, numerous scholars have used the word to explain the usage of different languages in the same context. Language instruction is one of its most prevalent applications. Teaching students to speak two or more languages in the classroom is known as translanguaging. This differs from the majority of second-language instruction, which teaches just one language at a time.

The term “translanguaging” may also be used to refer to the practise of employing two or more languages at the same time. There are several ways this can occur. Translanguaging occurs when two persons who are fluent in two languages converse in both languages at the same time. Translanguaging occurs when a tourist tries to converse with someone who speaks a different language than they do. Translanguaging occurs if two or more languages are spoken in the same context.

There is a great deal of disagreement on the meaning of the terms “bilingual” and “multilingual” when the phrase “translanguaging” is used. An ongoing controversy has raged for decades over the assumption that a bilingual is “two monolinguals in one.”

Whether or not the brain processes several languages independently or collectively is an important subject to consider. It is said by proponents of translanguaging that the brain perceives all languages as one, and so it is impossible to distinguish between Spanish and French in a bilingual Spanish-French speaker. Many people support this theory, but it hasn’t gained widespread acceptance.

Babbel is a great place to learn new languages every day.

Why Do People Use Code-Switching And Translanguaging?

Code-switching is another often used word to describe the process of switching between languages. It’s possible that you’ll mistake the two if you’re already familiar. Fair enough, as the variances in language approach do generate some confusion.

For more than half a century, code-switching has been studied in the field of linguistics. The most common method of studying code-switching is to listen to people’s speech and figure out how and why they transition from one language to another.

Studying “grammar” of code-switching since the assumption behind it is that something in the brain governs how it works is the subject of many research. Coding has been linked to the “two monolinguals in one” theory of bilingualism.

Even among linguists, though, code-switching has acquired a distinct connotation. The term “code-switch” is sometimes used to describe how people alter their behaviour depending on the situation.

When a youngster is with their friends or their parents, they may behave in a different way. The word “code-switch” is frequently used when discussing race and the way black people and other people of colour interact with whites. In addition to Code Switch, NPR provides a podcast dedicated to the topic of race. However, this is a helpful notion in and of itself, but it has no connection to linguistics.

As opposed to being a specific area of study, translanguaging serves more as a conceptual framework for examining how people interact with language. Instead than focusing on separate languages, dialects, and spoken words, translanguaging focuses on displaying how all of these things are intertwined.

Translanguaging, in contrast to code-switching, takes a closer look at the people who speak the language. To paraphrase a proponent of translanguaging, Ofelia Garca: “Translanguaging is more than just translating across languages; it is looking at the speaker’s language usage from the inside out.” According to this line of reasoning, we need to remove some of the linguistic barriers preventing us from fully comprehending multilingualism.

However, the broad definition of translanguaging is constantly in change. Translanguaging and code-switching can be referred to in a variety of ways. It’s likely that the phrase “code-switching” will continue to be used by non-specialists, despite the fact that the two aren’t exactly the same thing.

Translating And Teaching

For the most part, translanguaging has been used primarily for educational purposes, notably for children. Once upon a time, the conventional wisdom held that the most effective approach to raising a bilingual kid was to teach each language on its own. In recent years, several instructors have started trying out a different approach.

Three language teachers outlined some specific strategies for teaching two languages at the same time in an article for Language Magazine. Students were required to compose multilingual texts and learn how to navigate between languages as part of the course work.

It’s a more holistic approach to learning, and it involves careful preparation to ensure that the two languages are being given equal attention. As they put it: “Translanguaging activity offered a place for my emergent bilingual students to harness their whole language repertoires, boosting the development of crucial literacy skills and enhancing their learning experience.”

This method of teaching isn’t universally seen as a success. To teach two languages at the same time would be ineffective, according to many linguists, who think that each language has its own grammar.

Using this paradigm, more individuals are likely to experiment with innovative ways of teaching bilingualism in the future. It’s becoming more popular in regions where kids are already bilingual because it meets the students where they are in terms of their educational background.

If you can take away anything from this, though, it is that there are already billions of individuals around the globe who do not give any thought to the fact that they speak multiple languages at the same time.

Focusing on “correct” speech restricts our perception of the world’s diversity, even if monolingualism is popular in the western world. Translanguaging may become the standard in the future since communication is complex.

Aman Jha

Aman Jha is a digital marketing author, passionate writer, and consultant. He is a sucker for fine words and blogs about digital marketing and startups at maxzob.com. You can reach out to him at: [email protected]

Leave a Comment